Money money money
Just bought a "living" policy, it's actually a policy which covers death, permanent disability and 30 illnesses, $1724.95 per annum for life, assured for min $100,000 (increases progressively every year). Was actually thinking of buying a savings plan actually, but my agent (or rather my parents' agent) recommended tis cos' I don have any policy which covers these aspects. Actually have been thinking for a long time to buy some form of insurance cos' the earlier you buy, the less premiums you pay monthly and higher payout also, but decided to wait till I find a stable job first since I oredi noe I will not be staying long at citibank.
The agent recommended another policy which I'm still considering. This is a 15-year policy which covers death and permanent disabiliy, around $2.3k per annum, assured for $100,000 (if I didn't rem wrongly) and after 15 years, the co. (NTUC Income) will pay around $1.4k to us every year. The payout for this policy, according to the analysis of the agent and my dad, is actually better than a 15-year savings plan (monthly around $250) with a payout of $50k. The thing which holds me back is $. If I take up tis policy as well, my bank a/c will reduce by at least $4k now and as I'm most prob will be goin for a holi with my mum in 2 weeks' time to Korea (rather than HK), I will have to fork out another $2k at least for the trip, so it's really quite taxing for me. Next month when I go over to RHB, my income will greatly be affected as well, haiz....then in June still have to go Australia to visit darling, oh no....where will I get all these $$$??? stress ah...
Looks like these few months must really shrimp and save liao, or maybe I shouldn't go korea during tis break, maybe somewhere cheaper instead??? But don feel like disappointing my mum (though I know she wouldn't really mind)leh. Hmmm...really shang1 nao3 jin1 ar...My eyes are getting tired but my mind is still quite awake with all these $ issues bothering me....arhhhhhhh
Today is a happy day :)
Went for pre-employment check-up tis morning at Shenton medical, had eye checkup, urine test, blood test, x-ray and doctor examination, spent 2hrs 15mins there phew.
Bought a pair of shoes at a shop called Noda on my way back to raffles mrt, prices there quite ok(either on par/slightly cheaper w charles & keith), found e shoes there quite comfy, bought a pair. Din noe they also have outlets in suntec, west mall and jurong pt etc...hee anyway they sd if I buy another pair within e next 2 weeks, I will be given a member card, so most prob will go see see :)
Went HMV to alter e length of e fossil watch darling gave me, then go listen Jay's 7 li3 xiang1 album, hee really quite nice, oredi asked lena to help me buy when she goes chinatown tml, there cheaper (thk around $6 plus only). Then went over metro paragon to shop, saw a GUESS wallet which I instantly fell in love with e moment I set my eyes on it, was determined to buy. Decided to walk over to Taka to check whether e design is available there since I have a $60 taka voucher :P yes they do!!! hee gan1 gan1 hao3 can use e $60 voucher, "lugi" 10 cents only...so happy!!!
After tat went wisma to shop, luckily din see anything I like, else I have to spend $ agn :P Tot of next month when I change job cannot anyhow spend $ liao (cos' no more incentives le) abit sianz, but well I really can't stand chasing pple for $ liao...it's time for me to move on :)
It's Friday at last!
Had a long backend meeting first thing in the morning, lasted for 1-1/2 hour...phew...guess it will be my last backend meeting liao heehee...my supervisor announced to my collegues that I will be leaving and he's going to conduct his last interview tdy b4 shortlisting e candidates for the perm and contract positions.
Had lunch with yiqian and jinbao...yeong chai showed us e shortcut route to marina foodcourt...it was really faster than e usual route and don have to "sun-tan" :) yiqian gave me a hp chain-a pink yuan2 bao3, meant to bring wealth heehee...she was in her usual self, very energetic and keep suan-ing pple whenever she has a chance. Jinbao, on the other hand was quieter than usual, he failed his BMT so have to recourse, poor him...
Tdy is Alex's last day, he seemed so happy...hmmm wonder whether I will be as happy as him during my last day. Rec'vd a call fr e hr mgr of bank of new york, asked me go for 2nd interview, told her oredi accepted another position...anyway even if I didn't have RHB offer, I will still reject tis...humph...was being scrutinized during e interview by her and another woman, who happened to be pregnant (maybe tis explains her terrible attitude to a certain extent)...was super demoralized after that interview cos' they doubted my ability to perform, don seem to trust what I said and kept staring and observing my gestures and body language which makes me feel very very uncomfortable...it's e worst interview I have ever gone to so far, argh...it's really a very tormenting experience!!!
Gonna go zzz le, nitey everyone :)
Not a smooth-sailing day
Only contacted a few customers in e morning, haiz...either switched off their phones or not around, and worse met a few "quarrelsome" customers these days which makes me even more sianz...is the 1st month ever since I joined backend that I still haven't max my "attempts" and "contacts" during tis period, haiz...don thk I can make it for my "attempts", "contacts" maybe still have a chance but hate to bia till e last day of e month...so stressful :(
Saw "empress dowager" in the toilet, asked me when's my last day and where I'm goin to, only tell her goin to another bank doing something similar to AMU dept in ctb...cos most prob she will be informing my supervisor if I tell her, which I don feel like letting him know. It's e 1st time since I joined ctb that I talked to her so much, haha so ironic.
Was thinking whether to give a treat on my last day cos' Lawrence don seem too keen (btw lawrence is leaving too, 2 weeks later than me), was thinking if both of us spilt e costs than still quite affordable lor. His reasoning was so far no contract staffs have given treats on their last day for eg. Alvin and Emily, only permanent staffs....hmmm...but I feel a bit paiseh leh if leave w/o giving a treat...hmmm maybe I try to psycho him again :P
Last day shld be on 10march 05 if e no. of leave I have left is correct, plan to go HK w my mum, uncle and aunt cos' last year din go holi w em (went australia to look for darling during my leave), so wanted to take tis opportunity to go w her, then somewhere around June go Australia....also can take a break b4 I start on my new job on 21 march 05, heard fr my mum tdy e whole package costs around $800 plus for abt 4-5 days there...hmmmm seemed a bit ex. hor...
Yeong Chai is irritating tdy, asked how's my "attempts", "contacts", "promises kept" and "$ collected" when he can easily check on e website...told him and can c fr his expression tat he's shocked tat I hit at least 30 pts liao (he hasn't). Told him cos' "$ collected" for tis mth better...then he asked whether I have "picked $"...arrgh...told him in e face no "I didn't, a customer told me he wanna make full paymt lor", and he asked how much, told him around $17k and he sd orh...haiz tis guy hor, e way he said it seemed to doubt my ability leh...only until he told me he has several rebate deals tat I began to understand y...cos' he nvr expect my "$ collected" will be higher than his.
Overall, he's a not-bad guy, very helpful but occassionally he can say things which really pissed me off...he always looks at my screen whenever he passes by my seat, like monitoring wat I'm doing...today I just click on a screen and he says "don have to look so long one, fv approve liao"...argh...I can c tat lor and it's none of his business, y shld he care what I'm doing...and sometimes when I arrive earlier than him (which is really rare) by FEW MINS, he will say "wah so early ah", truth is my pc haven't started loading lor..e way he says sounded as if I come so early to bia like tat....omg...arghhhh
Gonna go watch tv and have my dinner le, hope tml will be a better day for me.
Nian2 Chu1 Si4
Went ken's place to bai4 nian2 tdy, his house is at tampines...luckily yeong chai's uncle went ovs can borrow his car. Went amk to meet him, selene was late so ended up leaving amk around 1245pm instead of 1230pm...planned to reach ken's place at 1300 actually. The car kept stalling although it's an auto car...thk too old liao, nearly 10yrs old...reached ken's place around 1325 cos' got lost for a while at tampines. Had lunch there then played chua tai di and blackjack b4 meeting yiqian and jinbao at orchard.
On e way up e multi-storey carpark at lido, e car stalled! omg...yeong chai kept trying to start e car but couldn't and e car at e back honked at us...both of us were panicking, scare e car reversed especially it's quite a steep slope also...after abt 15-20 seconds, e car mgt to start, phew! Wanted to watch "I do I do" but only left front rows so we decided not to watch movie...went to e building besides lido (forgot wat it is called liao :P), there's a new outlet (thk used to be delifrance) which sells desserts...ordered mango juice w mango cubes and sago, e sago filled half of e glass lor, very sweet, but mango juice was quite nice though. Went walk walk after that, felt a bit weird cos' 2 guys tagging behind 2 gals to shop...so we didn't really shop lah...just walk and talk.
Around 1830, Yiqian needs to visit her cousin who juz given birth so left me and e 2 guys...dunno where to go also, so went borders walk 1 round then went BK for dinner though I'm still full. Used matri card and ordered chicken whopper meal for $4 heehee student rate, split half of my burger to jinbao cos' ns-man needs to eat more :P. Chatted for a while and we went home..waited for 77 for nearly 20mins as usual argh...
Looks like tml gonna stay at home to rest liao, have been goin out these few days, come monday have to work liao ahhhhh....
Good news :)
Just finished drafting out my resignation letter, have been cutting and pasting nice phrases fr e net. I'm being offered a new job! ya it's at RHB Bank...just rec'vd a call from them tis morn...tot they askg me to go for 2nd interview, but instead they sd decided to employ me though I have no relevant experience, I told e person no worries cos' "I'm willing to learn" :) and she replied "we're willing to teach" heehee nt bad, mgt to jie1 my hua4.
Moment I put down e phone, turned to yeong chai and lawrence and told em e gd news, then went over to Lena's place to infor her. Also infor meilian and ivy when they passed by my seat...and after lunch told david abt it. Though I noe such things shld be kept under wrap first since everything has nt been finalised, I just couldn't contain my joy....I have been waiting for this day for so long heehee.
Anyway I didn't agree to take it up straightaway, told e lady needs to have a look at e ltr of employment and find out e specific duties of e position first...arranged to go down next wed to take a look. Btw I'm having an interview at DBS Bank tat day too :P wanna go listen first cos' actually prefer the position there, moreover branding better...hope I can delay the signing of e ltr of employment cos' interview outcome needs at least a week also...hmm...
Main concern was how to break e news to my supervisor, actually tdy has an urge to just go and tell him will not be taking up e permanent position he offered 3 weeks ago, but advice given was to tell him only after signing e contract w RHB first. Felt a bit stressed, dunno how to face him, I seemed to have "played him out" when I told him interested in permanent position :P now he has to find another replacement, must be a headache for him cos' become 3 vacancies now and if Lawrence is not intending to renew his contract in march, there will be 4 vacancies liao.
Gonna go zzz liao, still feeling very happy, I can finally get out of Citibank, wooohhooo!!! :P
Nian2 Chu1 Er4
Cousins, aunts, uncles and grandma came to my house for lunch..it's e 1st yr actually (if I didn't rem wrongly) cos' usually went to my da4 yi2's place for lunch during chu1 er4. But my da4 yi2 has to work tml so can be very tiring to prepare lunch for 20 plus pple. As usual, some watched tv, some played blackjack and some sat there chit-chatting...after abt 2 hours, proceeded to my great-grandmum's place...she's 90 plus yrs old liao...din really do much there except eating.
Next proceeded to my 5th uncle's place, his wife is expecting their 1st baby, abt 5 weeks liao...she seemed very tired and sianz, dunno whether bcos of e pregnancy or bcos there's no one to chat w her, hmmmm (it's e 2nd year since she joined e "teo" family liao). Again eat some snacks b4 e whole lot went to my da4 yi2's place, was there for a longer period of time cos' my 5th uncle needed to learn some computer stuff fr my biao3 ge1. Next stop was my 2nd uncle's place...my biao3 ge1 asked me whether my siemens sl65 good to use anot cos his gf is thking of gettg tat as well, had a chat w him and his gf, found tat his gf is actually quite easy-going and si1 wen2 (cos' her dressing a bit like ah lian..dressing can be deceiving), at least now formally know each other liao, though I still didn't noe her name (ooops!).
Finally, we proceeded to my eldest uncle's place, e last stop for e day, phew!Someone suggested playing mahjong...and since my parents, da4 yi2 and yi2 zhang4 are not here yet, my aunt suggested my biao3 ge1 and I be e representative for our own family. So e 4 players r my biao3 ge1, biao3 di4 (1 yr younger than me), biao3 mei4 (1 yr younger than me), with my 5th uncle as her jun1 shi1/advisor and me, with my another biao3 di4 (2 yrs younger than me) as my jun1 shi1..heehee cos' me and my biao3 mei4 r novice to mahjong. It was e 1st time we played mahjong together, hee wat a nice way to chu4 jing4 gan3 qin2. Most prob due to my beginner's luck and my advisor, I'm e overall big winner, won $20.50, split $10 to my advisor, my biao3 ge1 won $3, biao3 mei4 won $0.50 and my biao3 di4 lost $24...was a bit guilty of winning so much of his $...luckily e 4 of us are oredi working, have income liao.
Had our dinner after the mahjong session and headed home cos' still need to work tml...haiz...feeling very exhausted...gonna go zzz liao, nitey everyone :)